Swiss Theatre Awards

Swiss Grand Award Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring Award 2017

Swiss Grand Award for Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring 2017

Ursina Lardi

Radicalism and consummate artistry
 

Ursina Lardi was born in Samedan in 1970 and grew up in Poschiavo, in the Italian-speaking part of Graubünden. Today, she is one of Switzerland’s most versatile and best-known female actors. Her involvement in theatre productions in Graubünden began when she was still a child. Having trained as a primary school teacher in Chur, she moved in 1992 to Berlin, where she studied at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Art until 1996. She subsequently worked at theatres including the Maxim Gorki Theater in Berlin, the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, the Schauspiel Frankfurt and Schauspiel Hannover, the Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg and the Berliner Ensemble. She has been a permanent member of the ensemble at Berlin’s Schaubühne since 2012, having first performed there in 2004. Ursina Lardi is particularly known for her numerous film and television roles. In addition to frequent appearances in “Tatort”, her role as Baroness Marie Luise in Michael Haneke’s award-winning 2009 wartime drama “The White Ribbon” is one of her most celebrated parts. In 2014 she received the Swiss Film Award as best female actor for “Dreamland” (2013), the profile of a pregnant woman trying to figure out why her husband is cheating on her with prostitutes. Ursina Lardi has also featured in other successful Swiss films such as “Akte Grüninger” (2014) and “Der Verdingbub” (2011).

Despite her big-screen success, however, theatre remains the centre point of Ursina Lardi’s work. For her, the stage offers greater freedom: once rehearsals are complete the actor can get on with playing their part, without the presence of the director. In film the director is always on set, there are numerous breaks and in the final cut roles are reworked once again or versions chosen without the actor having any say. Ursina Lardi is hugely adaptable and known for her uncompromising performances in difficult roles. She is not afraid to play disagreeable characters, as in the socio-critical TV movie “Im Nirgendwo” (2016), in which she appears as the cynical and hard-nosed journalist Charlotte. For her, whether the character is likeable or not is immaterial – she focuses on playing the part and leaves it to the audience to make up their own minds. During the international guest performance series in the 2016/17 season at the Schauspielhaus in Zurich, Ursina Lardi appeared as an ensemble member in Chekhov’s “The Cherry Orchard” directed by Thorsten Lensing and in Milo Rau’s “Mitleid. Die Geschichte des Maschinengewehrs”, a production of the Schaubühne Berlin.

“‘I switch costumes and off I go’, is how Ursina Lardi describes the essence of her craft. It’s a statement that underlines her radicalism and consummate artistry. She has come a long way to where she is today, and has got there through sheer consistency. Since training in Berlin she has not just become a celebrated and award-winning cinema performer: she has also remained true to the theatre. Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Hanover and – many times over – Berlin are the staging posts in her career. Since 2012, Lardi has been a permanent member of the Berlin Schaubühne. The characters she plays are fundamentally human because they are not one-dimensional but always full of contradictions: cool yet delicate, brash yet fragile.”
Mathias Balzer, jury member

www.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ursina_Lardi
www.schaubuehne.de/de/personen/ursina-lardi.html

Prix suisses de théâtre

Grand Prix suisse de théâtre / Anneau Hans Reinhart 2017

Grand Prix suisse de théâtre / Anneau Hans Reinhart 2017

Ursina Lardi

Radicalité et maestria à l’oeuvre
 

Ursina Lardi, née en 1970 à Samedan, a grandi à Poschiavo, dans les Grisons italophones. Elle est aujourd’hui l’une des comédiennes les plus protéiforme et les plus connue de Suisse. Elle vit sur les planches depuis l’enfance. Elle obtient son diplôme d’institutrice à Coire et se rend à Berlin en 1992, où elle étudie à l’art dramatique à la Haute école «Ernst Busch» jusqu’en 1996. Elle a ensuite des engagements entre autres au théâtre Maxim-Gorki à Berlin, au Schauspielhaus de Düsseldorf, au Schauspiel de Francfort, au Schauspiel de Hannovre, au Deutsches Schauspielhaus de Hambourg et au Berliner Ensemble. Depuis 2012, elle est membre permanent de la Berliner Schaubühne, une scène qu'elle a foulée pour la première fois en 2004. Ursina Lardi est connue en particulier pour ses nombreux rôles au cinéma et à la télévision. On la retrouve dans de nombreux épisodes de la série « Tatort », mais son rôle le plus célèbre est celui de la baronne Marie-Louise dans « Le Ruban blanc » de Michael Haneke, un film de 2009 bardé de récompenses. Ursina Lardi reçoit en 2014 le Prix du cinéma suisse de la meilleure interprétation féminine pour sa prestation dans « Traumland » (2013). Le film raconte le drame d’une femme enceinte qui cherche à comprendre pourquoi son homme la trompe avec des prostituées. On peut également la voir à l’écran dans d’autres films suisses à succès comme « L’Affaire Grüninger » (2014) ou « L’Enfance volée » (2011).

Malgré ses succès au cinéma, Ursina Lardi reste avant tout, dit-elle, une femme de théâtre. Sur une scène de théâtre, on a une plus grande liberté. Le metteur en scène est là pendant les répétitions, mais après on est seul dans le rôle. Au cinéma, le réalisateur est toujours présent sur le plateau ou le lieu de tournage. Il y a de nombreuses pauses, les séquences sont retravaillées au moment du montage et les versions définitives montées sans que l’actrice ait son mot à dire. Ursina Lardi est une actrice caméléon, connue pour son jeu sans compromis dans des rôles difficiles. Elle ne craint pas d’incarner la laideur comme dans le téléfilm « Im Nirgendwo » (2016), une critique sociale où elle apparaît sous les traits de Charlotte, une journaliste blasée et cynique. Qu’un personnage soit sympathique ou non n’est pas un critère à ses yeux : elle se concentre sur le jeu et laisse le public seul juge. Dans la saison 2016-2017 du Schauspielhaus de Zurich, on a pu voir Ursina Lardi dans « La Cerisaie » de Tchékhov, mise en scène par Thorsten Lensing, et dans « Compassion. L’histoire de la mitraillette », de Milo Rau, un spectacle de la Schaubühne de Berlin.

« ‚Je change d’habit et c’est parti‛. C’est ainsi qu’Ursina Lardi définit l’essence de son travail. Cette citation souligne sa radicalité et sa maîtrise du sujet. Pour la Grisonne, c’est l’aboutissement d’un long parcours dont elle posé les jalons un à un. Depuis l’époque de sa formation à Berlin, elle est devenue une actrice de cinéma célébrée et couronnée de prix, tout en demeurant également fidèle à la scène. Düsseldorf, Hambourg, Hannovre et encore et toujours Berlin ont été les étapes clés de cette carrière. Depuis 2012, Ursina Lardi est membre permanent de la Berliner Schaubühne. Les personnages qu’elle incarne sont profondément humains parce que non monolithiques, mais emplis de contradictions, à la fois durs et vulnérables, forts et fragiles. »
Mathias Balzer, membre du jury   

www.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ursina_Lardi
www.schaubuehne.de/de/personen/ursina-lardi.html