Swiss Theatre Awards

Gabi Bernetta

Swiss Theatre Award 2018

Ruedi Häusermann & Kapelle Eidg. Moos

Unique musical theatre

 

Ruedi Häusermann was born in Lenzburg in 1948. He studied economics and music and now works as a composer and director. Over the years, this leading light of modern musical theatre has developed a distinct language for his genre that has brought him numerous accolades, including the City of Zurich Art Prize in 2011. Ruedi Häusermann (clarinet) created the evening entertainment “Kapelle eidg. Moos” along with musicians and actors Jan Ratschko (accordion) and Herwig Ursin (bass clarinet). In it, the trio indulge their secret passion for Swiss folk music. Eidg. Moos is not a conventional folk choir but rather an anarchic, freewheeling and experimental ensemble that shakes up time-honoured local traditions.

Ruedi Häusermann’s works – the fruit of lengthy periods spent composing and selecting themes – explore the ways in which theatre and music can open up new spaces for each other. With loving attention to detail he creates musical theatre evenings replete with multiple meanings in which his almost obsessive dedication to art and his craft always comes through. He has brought the worlds of his compositions to all the leading theatres in Switzerland, as well as the Burgtheater Vienna, the Bayerische Staatsoper, the Staatstheater Hannover, the Staatsoper Stuttgart and the Schauspielhaus Zürich, where “Robert Walser” premièred in 2014. The musical theatre performance “Kapelle eidg. Moos” was performed at dozens of venues between 2011 and 2015, making its way into the repertoire of the Schauspielhaus Zürich and onto almost all the smaller stages in German-speaking Switzerland. The trio created a follow-up to their inventive musical theatre in 2016, with “Radio Moos”.

“I want to create a world where you don’t immediately feel at home’, says Ruedi Häusermann, the inventor of worlds from Lenzburg. His productions blend sound, image, gesture, word and light into finely honed works of art that are just as rich, multi-layered and baffling as the world itself. The musician, director and composer has sleep-walked through the theatre along the narrow path of poetry for almost thirty years. Along with Herwig Ursin and Jan Ratschko, he has re-acquainted folk music with the sense of wonderment. Their Kapelle Eidgenössisch Moos has enriched Swiss musical theatre with its unique repertoire of outlandish sounds and instruments.”

Mathias Balzer, Jurymitglied

www.ruedihaeusermann.ch
www.eidgenoessischmoos.ch
www.radiomoos.ch
zurück zur Übersicht

Prix suisses de théâtre

Gabi Bernetta

Prix suisse du théâtre 2018

Ruedi Häusermann & Kapelle Eidg. Moos

Un phénomène du théâtre musical

 

Ruedi Häusermann, né en 1948 à Lenzbourg, a étudié l’économie et la musique, mais son travail actuel, c’est la composition et la mise en scène. Au fil des ans, ce pionnier du théâtre musical moderne a créé à travers ses travaux un langage musical propre, qui lui a déjà valu de multiples distinctions, notamment le Prix d’art de la ville de Zurich. Ruedi Häusermann (clarinette) a créé avec les musiciens et comédiens Jan Ratschko (accordéon) et Herwig Ursin (clarinette basse) une nouvelle forme de divertissement, la soirée récréative appelée « Kapelle eidg. Moos », pendant laquelle le trio se consacre à sa passion cachée, la musique populaire suisse. « Eidg. Moos » n’est pas un ensemble folklorique au sens convenu du terme, mais un groupe anarchique et indépendant qui, dans un esprit d’expérimentation, aime ébranler les vieilles traditions établies.

Dans ses pièces que précèdent de longues phases de composition et de recherche de sujets, Ruedi Häusermann cherche à découvrir comment le théâtre et la musique peuvent s’ouvrir mutuellement de nouveaux espaces. Avec beaucoup d’attention pour les détails, il crée des spectacles riches de significations multiples, dans lesquels on décèle toujours une passion presque obsessionnelle pour l’art et pour son métier. Il a mis en scène ses univers sur tous les théâtres importants de Suisse, au Burgtheater de Vienne, au Bayerische Staatsoper, au Staatstheater de Hannovre, au Staatsoper de Stuttgart et au Schauspielhaus de Zurich. C’est sur cette dernière scène qu’a été donnée en 2014 la première de « Robert Walser ». Entre 2011 et 2015, le spectacle « Kapelle eidg. Moos » a tourné dans d’innombrables endroits, sur presque toutes les scènes d’une certaine importance de Suisse alémanique, et il a figuré au répertoire du Schauspielhaus de Zurich. Le trio a donné un prolongement à ses délires musicaux et théâtraux en créant « Radio Moos » (2016).

« Je voudrais créer un monde dans lequel on ne trouve pas tout de suite ses repères‛, dit Ruedi Häusermann, le créateur de mondes de Lenzbourg. Dans ses mises en scène, le son, l’image, le geste, la parole et la lumière sont les éléments d’une synthèse artistique d’où sortent des œuvres finement ciselées qui, par leur richesse, leur complexité et leur mystère, ne le cèdent en rien au monde réel. Depuis près de trente ans, ce musicien-metteur en scène-compositeur fait son numéro de funambule poétique sur les scènes du monde. En compagnie de Herwig Ursin et de Jan Ratschko, il a réappris à la musique populaire à s’émerveiller. Et on ne manquera pas de mentionner qu’il a enrichi le théâtre musical suisse de choses aussi essentielles que l’automate à youtze, le haut-parleur de tête et le pendeljodel. »

Mathias Balzer, Jurymitglied

www.ruedihaeusermann.ch
www.eidgenoessischmoos.ch
www.radiomoos.ch
zurück zur Übersicht