Swiss Theatre Awards

Gabi Bernetta

Swiss Theatre Award 2018

Oscar Gómez Mata

Driven by anger

 

Actor and director Oscar Gómez Mata was born in Spain in 1963 and co-founded Legaleón-T there in 1987, producing a number of works with the company up until 1996. In 1995 he moved to Geneva, where he set up L’Alakran in 1997. As the company’s artistic director he is responsible for production, conception and dramaturgy; but he also writes the scripts and occasionally takes to the stage himself. From 1999 to 2005 he was artist in residence at the Théâtre Saint-Gervais in Geneva, then in 2006 at the international artistic laboratory Les Subsistances in Lyon, which is dedicated to developing a new language for the performing arts. He is also involved in drama training and continuing education at institutions including the École de Théâtre Serge Martin in Geneva, and is a regular guest at the Manufacture drama school of French-speaking Switzerland (HETSR) in Lausanne.

The works of Oscar Gómez Mata and L’Alakran meander between comedy and serious theatre, comedic directness and critique of capitalist society; this is drama that plays with the here and now and actively involves the audience. They tour in France, Spain, Italy, Portugal and Latin America as co-productions with theatres from Switzerland and abroad. Oscar Gómez Mata’s most recent piece, 2017’s “Le Direktør” based on a script by Lars von Trier, was a triumph at the La Bâtie festival in Geneva; it now tours widely and made it onto the wish list for the Swiss Theatre Encounter 2018. “Entre” (2012), featuring students from La Manufacture, has also been performed both in French-speaking Switzerland and at the Avignon Festival. Oscar Gómez Mata’s first Swiss production, 1997’s “Boucher Espagnol” after Rodrigo García, had been performed more than 150 times by 2003 and received the Zürcher Kantonalbank Patronage Prize at the Theaterspektakel 2001.

“Oscar Gómez Mata has just celebrated twenty years of L’Alakran, the company he created when he settled in Geneva. Since 1997, building on the network and artistic vocabulary he developed in Spain, he has composed poems of words, pictures and bodies. They are also essays for the stage that dissect the failings of capitalist society. Behind the comic energy, what drives Oscar Gómez Mata is actually anger: an intelligent anger that he is determined to share. Each of L’Alakran’s productions establishes a relationship with the audience that is at once brutal and friendly: an inimitable blend of bitter and sweet.”

Danielle Chaperon, Jurymitglied

www.alakran.ch
zurück zur Übersicht

Prix suisses de théâtre

Gabi Bernetta

Prix suisse du théâtre 2018

Oscar Gómez Mata

La colère comme moteur

 

Le comédien et metteur en scène Oscar Gómez Mata est né en 1963 en Espagne ; il y cofonde en 1987 la compagnie Legaleón-T, avec laquelle il réalise quelques pièces jusqu’en 1996. Il arrive à Genève en 1995 où il crée sa compagnie l’Alakran en 1997. Directeur artistique, il est responsable de la mise en scène, de la conception et de la dramaturgie, des textes également et n’hésite pas à monter sur scène à l’occasion. De 1999 à 2005, il est artiste en résidence au théâtre Saint-Gervais de Genève, en 2006 au laboratoire artistique international « Les Subsistances » de Lyon qui se consacre à la recherche d’un nouveau langage dans les arts du spectacle. Il est aussi engagé dans la formation et la formation continue théâtrales, notamment à l’École de théâtre Serge Martin de Genève et il est régulièrement invité à la Manufacture, la haute école de théâtre de Suisse romande (HETSR) de Lausanne.

Les pièces d’Oscar Gómez Mata et de L’Alakran hésitent entre comique et sérieux, entre spontanéité théâtrale et critique de la société capitaliste. Son théâtre joue avec le ici et maintenant, et donne au public un rôle actif. Coproduites par des théâtres suisses et étrangers, ses pièces tournent en France, en Espagne, en Italie, au Portugal et en Amérique du Sud. Sa dernière pièce, « Le Direktør » (2017), sur une idée originale de Lars von Trier, a été acclamée au festival de La Batie de Genève, a beaucoup tourné et figure sur la short list de la Rencontre du théâtre suisse 2018. Une autre pièce, « Entre » (2012) avec des étudiants de la Manufacture, a été présentée en Suisse romande et au festival d’Avignon. Sa première pièce suisse, « Boucher espagnol » (1997) d’après Rodrigo Garcia, a connu plus de 150 représentations jusqu’en 2003 et reçu en 2001 le prix de la banque cantonale de Zurich au Theaterspektakel.

« Oscar Gómez Mata vient de fêter les vingt ans de l’Alakran, la compagnie qu’il a créée en s’installant à Genève. Depuis 1997, fort du réseau et du vocabulaire artistiques qu’il avait développés en Espagne, Oscar Gómez Mata compose des poèmes verbaux, visuels et corporels. Ces poèmes sont aussi des essais qui procèdent sur scène à la dissection des travers de la société capitaliste. Derrière l’énergie comique, c’est en effet la colère qui est le moteur principal d’Oscar Gómez Mata, une colère qu’il veut intelligente et qu’il tient à partager. Chaque spectacle de l’Alakran établit ainsi une relation à la fois brutale et amicale avec le public : un inimitable mélange d’âpreté et de douceur. »

Danielle Chaperon, Jurymitglied

www.alakran.ch
zurück zur Übersicht