Swiss Theatre Awards

Gabi Bernetta

Gabi Bernetta © FOC/Gneborg, 2018

Swiss Theatre Award 2018

Gabi Bernetta

Enabler and networker

Gabi Bernetta was born in 1961 in Chur, where she also grew up, and has lived and worked in Zurich since 1985. After a commercial education she trained as an advertising assistant and opened her production office in Zurich in the mid-90s. She completed her master’s degree in culture management at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Winterthur in 2004. Over the years she has served as a production director and culture manager for various institutions: she was general manager of the Theater Chur from 2006 to 2008 and has also worked for the Junges Theater Zürich, forum:claque in Baden and the Kunstexpander performance festival in Aarau. In 2016 she initiated the national “jungspund Theatre Festival for Young Audiences St. Gallen”, which opened its doors on 21 February 2018 with a first edition devoted entirely to the Swiss scene.

Gabi Bernetta’s intuitive grasp of networks and the precision born of her commercial training have benefited numerous theatre productions. This award is intended to recognise her work which, while invisible to the audience, is invaluable to the theatre scene. Thom Luz, Jürg Kienberger, Ensemble Fiorenza, theater konstellationen and the group Plasma are just some of the many whose development Gabi Bernetta has pushed and promoted. She also co-founded and supported the Triad theatre company in Zurich and Manfred Ferrari’s “ressort k” in Chur. Over the years, theatre for children and young people has become an important part of her work. Since the last edition of SPOT in 2012 and the realignment of the “blickfelder” festival in Zurich, Switzerland has lacked a platform for this area of theatre. Bernetta is now filling the gap by establishing the “jungspund” festival.

“Gabi Bernetta is an enabler. As a production director with an acute sense of what ‘her’ directors, actors and musicians need, she works with them to create the environment in which art can flourish. She knows better than anyone that art production requires specific conditions: after all, she has been accompanying theatre practitioners on their journey from initial idea to completed project for more than 20 years. She is also a networker with a determination to shape cultural policy. She is the co-initiator and artistic director of the new ‘jungspund’ festival of theatre for children and young people, which was held for the first time in February 2018.” 

Markus Joss, Jurymitglied

www.bernetta.net
www.jungspund.ch
zurück zur Übersicht

Prix suisses de théâtre

Gabi Bernetta

Gabi Bernetta © OFC/Gneborg, 2018

Prix suisse du théâtre 2018

Gabi Bernetta

Facilitatrice et femme de réseau

Gabi Bernetta est née en1961 à Coire où elle a grandi ; elle vit et travaille à Zurich depuis 1985. Après des études à la KV-Business School, elle fait une formation d’assistante en publicité. Au milieu des années 1990, elle ouvre son propre bureau de production. En 2004, elle décroche un master de formation continue en management culturel à la ZHAW de Winterthour. Au fil des ans, elle a mis son savoir-faire de directrice de production et de gestionnaire de la culture au service de différentes institutions. De 2006 à 2008, elle assume des fonctions de direction au théâtre de Coire. Elle a rempli d’autres engagements auprès du Junges Theater de Zurich, de forum:claque à Baden et du Kunstexpander Performancefestival d’Aarau. En 2016, elle lance le festival national « jungspund ̶ Theaterfestival für junges Publikum St. Gallen » qui a ouvert ses portes pour la première fois le 21 février 2018 et qui a entièrement consacré sa première édition à des productions suisses.

Grâce à son sens du réseau, et à sa précision toute commerciale, Gaby Bernetta a permis à bon nombre de productions théâtrales d’exister. Ce prix entend honorer un travail certes invisible pour le public, mais précieux et indispensable à la scène théâtrale. Thom Luz, Jürg Kienberger, l’Ensemble Fiorenza, Theater Konstellationen ou le Gruppe Plasma, voilà quelques-uns des artistes ou des troupes dont Gabi Bernetta a voulu et encouragé le développement. Elle a cofondé et accompagné en outre la Triad Theatercompany à Zurich et « ressort k » de Manfred Ferrari à Coire. Le théâtre pour les enfants et les jeunes est devenu avec les années une part importante de son travail. Depuis la dernière édition de SPOT 2012 et la réorganisation du festival « blickfelder » de Zurich, il manque une plateforme dans ce domaine théâtral en Suisse. En créant le festival « Jungspund », Gaby Bernetta comble cette lacune.

« Gabi Bernetta est une facilitatrice. En tant que directrice de production, qui anticipe ce dont ‚ses‛ metteurs en scène, comédiens et musiciens ont besoin, elle met les uns et les autres en état de pratiquer leur travail artistique. Toute production artistique dépend des conditions concrètes qu’elle rencontre. Personne ne le sait mieux qu’elle qui, depuis plus de 20 ans accompagne les gens de théâtre, de leurs premières idées à la réalisation de leur projet. Et c’est aussi une femme de réseau qui a la volonté d’inscrire son action dans un cadre politique et culturel. Elle est co-initiatrice et directrice artistique du nouveau festival de théâtre pour les enfants et les jeunes ‚Jungspund‛ qui a connu sa première édition en février 2018. »

Markus Joss, Jurymitglied

www.bernetta.net
www.jungspund.ch
zurück zur Übersicht