Swiss Theatre Awards

Swiss Grand Award Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring Award 2017

Swiss Grand Award for Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring 2017

Ursina Lardi

Radicalism and consummate artistry
 

Ursina Lardi was born in Samedan in 1970 and grew up in Poschiavo, in the Italian-speaking part of Graubünden. Today, she is one of Switzerland’s most versatile and best-known female actors. Her involvement in theatre productions in Graubünden began when she was still a child. Having trained as a primary school teacher in Chur, she moved in 1992 to Berlin, where she studied at the Ernst Busch Academy of Dramatic Art until 1996. She subsequently worked at theatres including the Maxim Gorki Theater in Berlin, the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, the Schauspiel Frankfurt and Schauspiel Hannover, the Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg and the Berliner Ensemble. She has been a permanent member of the ensemble at Berlin’s Schaubühne since 2012, having first performed there in 2004. Ursina Lardi is particularly known for her numerous film and television roles. In addition to frequent appearances in “Tatort”, her role as Baroness Marie Luise in Michael Haneke’s award-winning 2009 wartime drama “The White Ribbon” is one of her most celebrated parts. In 2014 she received the Swiss Film Award as best female actor for “Dreamland” (2013), the profile of a pregnant woman trying to figure out why her husband is cheating on her with prostitutes. Ursina Lardi has also featured in other successful Swiss films such as “Akte Grüninger” (2014) and “Der Verdingbub” (2011).

Despite her big-screen success, however, theatre remains the centre point of Ursina Lardi’s work. For her, the stage offers greater freedom: once rehearsals are complete the actor can get on with playing their part, without the presence of the director. In film the director is always on set, there are numerous breaks and in the final cut roles are reworked once again or versions chosen without the actor having any say. Ursina Lardi is hugely adaptable and known for her uncompromising performances in difficult roles. She is not afraid to play disagreeable characters, as in the socio-critical TV movie “Im Nirgendwo” (2016), in which she appears as the cynical and hard-nosed journalist Charlotte. For her, whether the character is likeable or not is immaterial – she focuses on playing the part and leaves it to the audience to make up their own minds. During the international guest performance series in the 2016/17 season at the Schauspielhaus in Zurich, Ursina Lardi appeared as an ensemble member in Chekhov’s “The Cherry Orchard” directed by Thorsten Lensing and in Milo Rau’s “Mitleid. Die Geschichte des Maschinengewehrs”, a production of the Schaubühne Berlin.

“‘I switch costumes and off I go’, is how Ursina Lardi describes the essence of her craft. It’s a statement that underlines her radicalism and consummate artistry. She has come a long way to where she is today, and has got there through sheer consistency. Since training in Berlin she has not just become a celebrated and award-winning cinema performer: she has also remained true to the theatre. Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Hanover and – many times over – Berlin are the staging posts in her career. Since 2012, Lardi has been a permanent member of the Berlin Schaubühne. The characters she plays are fundamentally human because they are not one-dimensional but always full of contradictions: cool yet delicate, brash yet fragile.”
Mathias Balzer, jury member

www.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ursina_Lardi
www.schaubuehne.de/de/personen/ursina-lardi.html

Schweizer Theaterpreise

Schweizer Grand Prix Theater / Hans-Reinhart-Ring 2017

Schweizer Grand Prix Theater / Hans-Reinhart-Ring 2017

Ursina Lardi

Radikalität und Meisterschaft im Spiel
 

Ursina Lardi, geboren 1970 in Samedan, wuchs in Poschiavo, im italienischsprachigen Teil Graubündens auf. Heute ist sie eine der vielseitigsten und bekanntesten Schweizer Schauspielerinnen. Bereits als Kind wirkte sie in Theaterproduktionen in Graubünden mit. Nachdem sie in Chur eine Ausbildung zur Primarschullehrerin absolviert hatte, zog sie 1992 nach Berlin, wo sie bis 1996 an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst «Ernst Busch» studierte. Anschliessend hatte sie Theaterengagements am Maxim-Gorki-Theater in Berlin, am Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, am Schauspiel Frankfurt und Schauspiel Hannover, am Deutschen Schauspielhaus Hamburg und am Berliner Ensemble. Seit 2012 ist sie festes Ensemblemitglied der Berliner Schaubühne, wo sie erstmals 2004 zu sehen war. Ursina Lardi ist insbesondere bekannt durch ihre zahlreichen Film- und Fernsehrollen. Neben vielen Auftritten im «Tatort» zählt ihre Rolle als Baronesse Marie Luise in Michael Hanekes preisgekröntem Weltkriegsdrama «Das weisse Band» von 2009 zu ihren bekanntesten Filmengagements. 2014 erhielt sie den Schweizer Filmpreis als beste Darstellerin für ihre Rolle in «Traumland» (2013), dem Psychogramm einer schwangeren Frau, die zu erkunden versucht, warum ihr Mann sie mit Prostituierten betrügt. Auch in anderen erfolgreichen Schweizer Filmen wie «Akte Grüninger» (2014) oder «Der Verdingbub» (2011) ist Ursina Lardi zu sehen.

Trotz ihrer Erfolge im Filmgeschäft sei das Theater das Zentrum ihrer Arbeit, sagt Ursina Lardi. Auf der Theaterbühne habe man einen grösseren Spielraum, stehe nach der Probenzeit ohne Regisseur alleine in der Rolle dort. Beim Film bleibt die Regie auf dem Set, es gibt viele Pausen und im Schnitt werden die Rollen nochmals bearbeitet respektive Versionen ausgewählt, die sie als Schauspielerin nicht mit bestimmen könne. Ursina Lardi ist enorm wandlungsfähig, bekannt ist sie für ihr kompromissloses Spiel in schwierigen Rollen. Sie zeigt Mut zur Hässlichkeit wie im sozialkritischen Fernsehfilm «Im Nirgendwo» (2016), in dem sie die zynische und abgebrühte Journalistin Charlotte spielt. Es sei für sie kein Kriterium, ob eine Figur sympathisch ist oder nicht – sie konzentriere sich auf das Spiel und überlasse die Bewertung dem Publikum. Im Zürcher Schauspielhaus war Ursina Lardi in der Saison 2016/17 in der internationalen Gastspielreihe in Tschechows «Kirschgarten» im Ensemble und unter der Regie von Thorsten Lensing und in Milo Raus «Mitleid. Die Geschichte des Maschinengewehrs», eine Inszenierung der Schaubühne Berlin, zu sehen.

«‚Ich wechsle das Kleid, und dann geht’s los.‛ So beschreibt Ursina Lardi die Essenz ihres Handwerks. Das Zitat unterstreicht ihre Radikalität und Meisterschaft. Um sie zu erlangen, ist die Bündnerin einen weiten Weg konsequent gegangen. Sie ist seit ihrer Ausbildung in Berlin nicht nur eine gefeierte, mit Preisen geehrte Filmschauspielerin geworden. Sie blieb auch der Bühne treu. Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Hannover – und immer wieder Berlin sind Stationen dieser Laufbahn. Seit 2012 ist Lardi festes Mitglied der Berliner Schaubühne. Die von ihr gespielten Figuren sind fundamental menschlich, weil sie nicht eindimensional, sondern immer widersprüchlich sind: kühl und zerbrechlich, forsch und fragil.»
Mathias Balzer, Jurymitglied

www.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ursina_Lardi
www.schaubuehne.de/de/personen/ursina-lardi.html