Swiss Theatre Awards

Gabi Bernetta

Swiss Theatre Award 2018

Oscar Gómez Mata

Driven by anger

 

Actor and director Oscar Gómez Mata was born in Spain in 1963 and co-founded Legaleón-T there in 1987, producing a number of works with the company up until 1996. In 1995 he moved to Geneva, where he set up L’Alakran in 1997. As the company’s artistic director he is responsible for production, conception and dramaturgy; but he also writes the scripts and occasionally takes to the stage himself. From 1999 to 2005 he was artist in residence at the Théâtre Saint-Gervais in Geneva, then in 2006 at the international artistic laboratory Les Subsistances in Lyon, which is dedicated to developing a new language for the performing arts. He is also involved in drama training and continuing education at institutions including the École de Théâtre Serge Martin in Geneva, and is a regular guest at the Manufacture drama school of French-speaking Switzerland (HETSR) in Lausanne.

The works of Oscar Gómez Mata and L’Alakran meander between comedy and serious theatre, comedic directness and critique of capitalist society; this is drama that plays with the here and now and actively involves the audience. They tour in France, Spain, Italy, Portugal and Latin America as co-productions with theatres from Switzerland and abroad. Oscar Gómez Mata’s most recent piece, 2017’s “Le Direktør” based on a script by Lars von Trier, was a triumph at the La Bâtie festival in Geneva; it now tours widely and made it onto the wish list for the Swiss Theatre Encounter 2018. “Entre” (2012), featuring students from La Manufacture, has also been performed both in French-speaking Switzerland and at the Avignon Festival. Oscar Gómez Mata’s first Swiss production, 1997’s “Boucher Espagnol” after Rodrigo García, had been performed more than 150 times by 2003 and received the Zürcher Kantonalbank Patronage Prize at the Theaterspektakel 2001.

“Oscar Gómez Mata has just celebrated twenty years of L’Alakran, the company he created when he settled in Geneva. Since 1997, building on the network and artistic vocabulary he developed in Spain, he has composed poems of words, pictures and bodies. They are also essays for the stage that dissect the failings of capitalist society. Behind the comic energy, what drives Oscar Gómez Mata is actually anger: an intelligent anger that he is determined to share. Each of L’Alakran’s productions establishes a relationship with the audience that is at once brutal and friendly: an inimitable blend of bitter and sweet.”

Danielle Chaperon, Jurymitglied

www.alakran.ch
zurück zur Übersicht

Schweizer Theaterpreise

Gabi Bernetta

Schweizer Theaterpreis 2018

Oscar Gómez Mata

Empörung als Antrieb


Der Schauspieler und Regisseur Oscar Gómez Mata, geboren 1963 in Spanien, war dort 1987 Mitgründer der Compagnie Legaleón-T, mit der er bis 1996 bereits einige Stücke realisierte. 1995 kam er nach Genf, wo er 1997 seine Compagnie L’Alakran gründete. Als künstlerischer Leiter der Compagnie ist er verantwortlich für Regie, Konzeption und Dramaturgie, aber auch für die Texte oder steht in einigen Stücken selbst auf der Bühne. Von 1999 bis 2005 hatte er eine künstlerische Residenz am Genfer Théâtre Saint-Gervais, 2006 am internationalen künstlerischen Laboratorium Les Subsistances in Lyon, das sich einer neuen Sprache in den darstellenden Künsten widmet. Ausserdem ist er in der Theateraus- und -weiterbildung engagiert, u. a. an der Ecole de Théâtre Serge Martin in Genf, und ist regelmässig Gast an der Manufacture, der Theaterhochschule der Romandie (HETSR) in Lausanne.

Die Stücke von Oscar Gómez Mata und L’Alakran mäandern zwischen Komik und Ernsthaftigkeit, zwischen komödiantischer Direktheit und Kritik an der kapitalistischen Gesellschaft. Sein Theater spielt mit dem Hier und Jetzt, mit einer aktiven Rolle des Publikums. Koproduziert von Schweizer und ausländischen Theatern, touren seine Werke in Frankreich, Spanien, Italien, Portugal und Lateinamerika. Sein letztes Stück «Le Direktør» (2017), nach einer Vorlage von Lars von Trier, wurde am Festival La Batie in Genf gefeiert, tourt intensiv und landete auf der Shortlist des Schweizer Theatertreffens 2018. Auch «Entre» (2012) mit Studierenden der Manufacture wurde nicht nur in der Romandie, sondern auch am Festival von Avignon gezeigt. Sein Erstling in der Schweiz, «Boucher Espagnol» (1997) nach Rodrigo García, das bis 2003 mehr als 150 Aufführungen erlebte, wurde am Theater Spektakel 2001 mit dem Förderpreis der Zürcher Kantonalbank ausgezeichnet.

«Oscar Gómez Mata feierte kürzlich das 20-jährige Jubiläum der Compagnie l’Alakran, die er bei seiner Ankunft in Genf gründete. Seit 1997 schafft Oscar Gómez Mata mit seinem Netzwerk und seiner künstlerischen Ausdrucksweise, die er in Spanien entwickelt hatte, verbale, visuelle und körperliche Poesie, die sich auf der Bühne mit den Fehlern der kapitalistischen Gesellschaft auseinandersetzt. Hinter der Komik steckt die Empörung als Hauptantrieb des Schaffens von Oscar Gómez Mata. Eine intelligente Empörung, die er mit uns teilen will. Die Stücke der Compagnie l’Alakran stellen daher eine Beziehung zum Publikum her, die gleichzeitig brutal und freundschaftlich ist, eine einzigartige Mischung aus herb und mild.»

Danielle Chaperon, Jurymitglied

www.alakran.ch
zurück zur Übersicht