Swiss Theatre Awards

Gabi Bernetta

Gabi Bernetta © FOC/Gneborg, 2018

Swiss Theatre Award 2018

Gabi Bernetta

Enabler and networker

Gabi Bernetta was born in 1961 in Chur, where she also grew up, and has lived and worked in Zurich since 1985. After a commercial education she trained as an advertising assistant and opened her production office in Zurich in the mid-90s. She completed her master’s degree in culture management at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Winterthur in 2004. Over the years she has served as a production director and culture manager for various institutions: she was general manager of the Theater Chur from 2006 to 2008 and has also worked for the Junges Theater Zürich, forum:claque in Baden and the Kunstexpander performance festival in Aarau. In 2016 she initiated the national “jungspund Theatre Festival for Young Audiences St. Gallen”, which opened its doors on 21 February 2018 with a first edition devoted entirely to the Swiss scene.

Gabi Bernetta’s intuitive grasp of networks and the precision born of her commercial training have benefited numerous theatre productions. This award is intended to recognise her work which, while invisible to the audience, is invaluable to the theatre scene. Thom Luz, Jürg Kienberger, Ensemble Fiorenza, theater konstellationen and the group Plasma are just some of the many whose development Gabi Bernetta has pushed and promoted. She also co-founded and supported the Triad theatre company in Zurich and Manfred Ferrari’s “ressort k” in Chur. Over the years, theatre for children and young people has become an important part of her work. Since the last edition of SPOT in 2012 and the realignment of the “blickfelder” festival in Zurich, Switzerland has lacked a platform for this area of theatre. Bernetta is now filling the gap by establishing the “jungspund” festival.

“Gabi Bernetta is an enabler. As a production director with an acute sense of what ‘her’ directors, actors and musicians need, she works with them to create the environment in which art can flourish. She knows better than anyone that art production requires specific conditions: after all, she has been accompanying theatre practitioners on their journey from initial idea to completed project for more than 20 years. She is also a networker with a determination to shape cultural policy. She is the co-initiator and artistic director of the new ‘jungspund’ festival of theatre for children and young people, which was held for the first time in February 2018.” 

Markus Joss, Jurymitglied

www.bernetta.net
www.jungspund.ch
zurück zur Übersicht

Schweizer Theaterpreise

Gabi Bernetta

Gabi Bernetta © BAK/Gneborg, 2018

Schweizer Theaterpreis 2018

Gabi Bernetta

Ermöglicherin und Netzwerkerin

Gabi Bernetta, 1961 in Chur geboren und aufgewachsen, lebt und arbeitet seit 1985 in Zürich. Nach der KV-Business School absolvierte sie eine Ausbildung zur Werbeassistentin. Mitte der Neunzigerjahre öffnete sie ihr Produktionsbüro in der Limmatstadt. 2004 schloss sie den Weiterbildungsmaster in Kulturmanagement an der ZHAW in Winterthur ab. Ihr Know-how als Produktionsleiterin und Kulturmanagerin stellte sie über die Jahre auch in den Dienst verschiedener Institutionen: Von 2006 bis 2008 arbeitete sie als Geschäftsleiterin am Theater Chur. Weitere Engagements hatte sie beim Jungen Theater Zürich, beim forum:claque in Baden oder beim Kunstexpander Performancefestival in Aarau. 2016 initiierte sie das nationale Festival «jungspund  ̶  Theaterfestival für junges Publikum St. Gallen», das am 21. Februar 2018 erstmals seine Türen öffnete und sich in seiner Erstausgabe ganz der Schweizer Szene widmete.

Mit Gespür für Netzwerke und mit kaufmännischer Präzision hat Gabi Bernetta eine Vielzahl von Theaterproduktionen ermöglicht. Dieser Preis soll ihre, für das Publikum zwar unsichtbare, für die Theaterszene jedoch fundamental wichtige Arbeit würdigen. Thom Luz, Jürg Kienberger, das Ensemble Fiorenza, Theater Konstellationen oder die Gruppe Plasma sind nur einige von vielen, die Gabi Bernetta in ihrer Entwicklung gefordert und gefördert hat. Mitgegründet und begleitet hat sie zudem die Triad Theatercompany in Zürich und Manfred Ferraris «ressort k» in Chur. Das Kinder- und Jugendtheater hat sich über die Jahre zu einem wichtigen Teil ihrer Arbeit entwickelt. Seit der letzten Ausgabe von SPOT 2012 und einer neuen Gewichtung des «blickfelder»-Festivals in Zürich fehlt in der Schweiz eine Plattform für diesen Theaterbereich. Diese Lücke schliesst Bernetta nun mit der Gründung des oben genannten Jungspund-Festivals.

«Gabi Bernetta ist eine Ermöglicherin. Als Produktionsleiterin mit einem feinen Gespür dafür, was ‚ihre‛ Regisseur*innen, Schauspieler*innen und Musiker*innen brauchen, schafft sie zusammen mit ihnen Rahmenbedingungen, die ein künstlerisches Arbeiten überhaupt erst möglich machen. Kunstproduktion ist an konkrete Bedingungen geknüpft. Niemand weiss das besser als sie, denn seit über 20 Jahren begleitet sie Theaterschaffende auf ihrem Weg von den ersten Ideen bis zur Realisierung ihrer Projekte. Und: Sie ist eine Netzwerkerin mit kulturpolitischem Gestaltungswillen. Sie ist Mitinitiatorin und künstlerische Leiterin des neuen Kinder- und Jugendtheater Festivals ‚jungspund‛, das im Februar 2018 zum ersten Mal stattfand.»

Markus Joss, Jurymitglied

www.bernetta.net
www.jungspund.ch
zurück zur Übersicht