Swiss Theatre Awards

Gabi Bernetta

Swiss Theatre Award 2018

Anne Bisang

Freedom and emancipation

 

Anne Bisang was born in Geneva in 1961 and grew up in Yokohama and Beirut. Returning to Geneva, she studied at the École Supérieure d’Art Dramatique (ESAD). After various acting jobs she made her directorial début in 1987 with “WC Dames”; performed by Compagnie du Revoir, which she set up along with Valérie Poirier (Theatre Award winner 2017) and two other women, it was a considerable success. For twelve years, from 1999 to 2011, she was the first female (and youngest ever) theatre director of the Comédie de Genève, where she also hosted young local theatre practitioners such as Maya Bösch, Denis Maillefer and, in 2006, “Méphisto/rien qu’un acteur” by the young Mathieu Bertholet. She has been artistic director of the Théâtre populaire romand (TPR) in La Chaux-de-Fonds since 2013.

Anne Bisang has long been a combative – and occasionally controversial – champion of the interests of theatre in general and women in particular. For her, TPR’s importance derives from its network and collaborations across French-speaking Switzerland. She invites guest directors to La Chaux-de-Fonds, offers residencies, directs in her own right, and arranges guest appearances for the productions. In 2017 she co-produced “Le Direktør”, based on a script by Lars von Trier, with Oskar Gómez Mata (also one of this year’s award winners); it was a triumphant success at the La Bâtie festival in Geneva and has since gone on tour – and made it onto the shortlist for this year’s Swiss Theatre Encounter. Her most recent directorial work, “Elle est là”, is also being shown in La Grange de Dorigny, Neuchâtel and Delémont. For all her single-minded persistence in pursuit of what matters to her, Anne Bisang’s productions are also shot through with humour. And she offers an upbeat view on the #MeToo debate, noting that there are already many more female theatre directors and producers, and believes the current focus on the issue can help to change attitudes throughout the theatre.

“For her, theatre is a social and civic magnet: committed, fierce and demanding. It has the vigour and energy to shake up ideas and preconceptions. A school of freedom and emancipation, as she might say. For her, theatre is a place to map out the identities of a region, like the Neuchâtel mountains, with its demands, aspirations and dreams, nurturing a togetherness that is both stimulating and poetic. For her, theatre is above all a collective enterprise, an enabler of encounters with the lives and words of creative people or souls yearning for an elsewhere and another way of being. For Anne Bisang, theatre affirms the urgency of participation in the world, whatever latitude we inhabit.”

Anne Fournier, Jurymitglied

www.tpr.ch
zurück zur Übersicht

Schweizer Theaterpreise

Gabi Bernetta

Schweizer Theaterpreis 2018

Anne Bisang

Freiheit und Emanzipation


Anne Bisang, geboren 1961 in Genf, wuchs in Yokohama und Beirut auf. Zurück in Genf, studierte sie an der École Supérieure d’Art Dramatique (ESAD). Nach einzelnen Engagements als Schauspielerin führte sie 1987 erstmals Regie: «WC Dames», realisiert mit der Compagnie du Revoir, die sie mit Valérie Poirier (Theaterpreis 2017) und zwei weiteren Frauen gründete, erzielte einen beachtlichen Erfolg. Zwölf Jahre lang, von 1999 bis 2011 leitete sie als erste Frau und jüngste Theaterleiterin die Comédie de Genève und lud dort auch lokale, junge Theaterschaffende wie Maya Bösch oder Denis Maillefer sowie 2006 den jungen Mathieu Bertholet mit «Méphisto/rien qu’un acteur» ein. Seit 2013 ist sie künstlerische Leiterin des Théâtre populaire romand (TPR) in La Chaux-de-Fonds.

Anne Bisang engagiert sich seit langem  ̶  durchaus offensiv und deshalb gelegentlich umstritten  ̶  für die Anliegen des Theaters und im Besonderen für die Frauen. Wichtig ist ihr am TPR die Vernetzung und Zusammenarbeit in der Romandie. Sie lädt Gastregisseurinnen und -regisseure nach La Chaux-de-Fonds ein, bietet Residenzen, inszeniert selbst und sucht für die Produktionen Gastspiele. Mit Oskar Gómez Mata, ebenfalls Preisträger in diesem Jahr, koproduzierte sie 2017 nach Lars von Triers Vorlage «Le Direktør», das am Festival La Batie in Genf gefeiert wurde, seither tourt und auch auf der Shortlist des diesjährigen Schweizer Theatertreffens landete. Und ihr letztes Regiewerk «Elle est là» wird auch in La Grange de Dorigny, in Neuchâtel und in Delémont gezeigt. Bei aller Beharrlichkeit für ihre Anliegen beweist Anne Bisang immer wieder auch Humor in ihren Inszenierungen und wirft einen positiven Blick auf die #MeToo-Debatte: Es gäbe heute bereits deutlich mehr Regisseurinnen und Direktorinnen im Theater  ̶  und die aktuelle Aufmerksamkeit könne generell die Mentalität im Theater verändern.

«Mit ihr ist das Theater sozial, gesellschaftlich, engagiert, wild und fordernd. Es hat die Kraft und Energie, um Ideen und Vorurteile durcheinander zu bringen und ist eine Schule der Freiheit und der Emanzipation, wie sie es nannte. Mit ihr ist das Theater der Ort, an dem sich die Identitäten einer Region (der Neuenburger Berge) abzeichnen mit ihren Forderungen, Zielen und Träumen. Es nährt ein stimulierendes und poetisches Zusammensein. Mit ihr ist das Theater vor allem auch kollektiv und schafft Begegnungen mit den Wegen und Worten der Theaterschaffenden in ihrer Suche nach dem Anderen. Mit Anne Bisang spricht das Theater die Dringlichkeit aus, an der Welt teilzunehmen, egal wo wir uns befinden.»

Anne Fournier, Jurymitglied

www.tpr.ch
zurück zur Übersicht