Swiss Theatre Awards

Les Petits Chanteurs à la Gueule de Bois

Schweizer Kleinkunstpreis 2018

Les Petits Chanteurs à la Gueule de Bois

Musical spectacles

Les Petits Chanteurs à la Gueule de Bois came together some fifteen years ago in the mountains of Neuchâtel. Behind the name are three passionate musicians: Lionel Aebischer, Frédéric Erard and Raphaël Pedroli. Lionel Aebischer, who was born in Le Locle in 1977, is the group’s multi-instrumentalist. He writes the lyrics and plays the accordion, harmonium, guitar, banjo and charrango. Aebischer studied the clarinet in La Chaux-de-Fonds, took lessons in improvisation and specialised in contemporary music. As well as teaching at the Ecole Jurassienne et Conservatoire de Musique he is involved in numerous music projects around the world. Frédéric Erard, who was born in Le Locle in 1978, sings and plays the bass and double bass. He trained as a stonemason and structural engineering draughtsman, but took piano lessons as a child and taught himself the bass. Raphaël Pedroli, who was born in Neuchâtel in 1978, plays the drums and percussion and also sings. He studied drumming at the Swiss Jazz School in Bern. After spending time in New York he made numerous appearances at Swiss music festivals.

Les Petits Chanteurs à la Gueule de Bois’ love of wordplay is evident from their name: an amusing variation on the traditional French boys’ choir Les Petits Chanteurs à la Croix de Bois, it also references an idiomatic French expression for a hangover.

No sign of sore heads here, though: this is an act that performs humorous, fresh and irresistibly honest chansons about the little things in life. Their performances are musical spectacles that blend music and theatre in skilful arrangements and witty stagings. Each work tells a new story that draws the audience into a different world in miniature. The trio’s love of performing is obvious, as is their delight at the universe they have created. They have produced five albums and created five evening programmes since 2008, which they take on tour mainly to French-speaking countries. “Chansons douces et autres vers d’oreille”, their musical spectacle for young audiences, is equally popular with adults.

«A trio of cheery musicians whisk us away into their world of poetry, dark humour and refreshing irreverence. The words and music are original; their muse has clearly been hard at work. In the grand tradition of Les Frères Jacques, Les Charlots and Les Nonnes Troppo, PCGB bring a touch of class to a popular musical genre: the song with intelligent and humorous lyrics. Thank you, Lionel Aebischer, Frédéric Erard and Raphaël Pedroli for serving up so much joy and so many keen insights into our world.

And to any curmudgeon who points out that “gueule de bois” means “hangover”, may we recommend the Michelada: a cocktail of lime, Tabasco, beer and Worcester sauce that’s guaranteed to ease the sorest head.»

Thierry Luisier, jury member

www.pcgb.ch
back to the overview

Schweizer Theaterpreise

Les Petits Chanteurs à la Gueule de Bois

Schweizer Kleinkunstpreis 2018

Les Petits Chanteurs
à la Gueule de Bois

Musikalische Spektakel


Hinter Les Petits Chanteurs à la Gueule de Bois, vor rund fünfzehn Jahren in den Neuenburger Bergen gegründet, stecken die drei passionierten Musiker Lionel Aebischer, Frédéric Erard und Raphaël Pedroli. Lionel Aebischer, geboren 1977 in Le Locle, ist der Multiinstrumentalist der Gruppe. Er schreibt die Texte, singt, spielt Akkordeon, Harmonium, Gitarre, Banjo und Charrango. Aebischer studierte Klarinette in La Chaux-de-Fonds, besuchte Kurse zur Improvisation und spezialisierte sich in zeitgenössischer Musik. Neben dem Unterricht an der Ecole Jurassienne et Conservatoire de Musique ist er in zahlreiche musikalische Projekte in der ganzen Welt involviert. Frédéric Erard, geboren 1978 in Le Locle, singt und spielt Kontrabass und Bass. Er ist gelernter Steinmetz und Hochbauzeichner, nahm aber bereits als Kind Klavierunterricht und ist Autodidakt am Bass. Raphaël Pedroli, geboren 1978 in Neuenburg, spielt Schlagzeug, Perkussion und singt. Er studierte Schlagzeug an der Swiss Jazz School in Bern. Nach einem Abstecher nach New York absolvierte Pedroli zahlreiche Auftritte an verschiedenen Schweizer Musikfestivals.

Dass die Petits Chanteurs à la Gueule de Bois Wortspielereien mögen, zeigt sich anhand ihres Namens, den sie als amüsante Abwandlung des traditionsreichen französischen Knabenchors Les Petits Chanteurs à la Croix de Bois gewählt haben.
Sie sind aber keinesfalls so verkatert wie ihr Name es suggeriert, denn sie machen humorvolle, frische und bestechend ehrliche Chansons über die kleinen Dinge unseres Daseins. Ihre Auftritte sind musikalische Spektakel, die sich irgendwo zwischen Musik und Theater bewegen, gekonnt arrangiert und gewitzt inszeniert. Jedes Werk erzählt eine neue Geschichte und entführt das Publikum in eine eigene kleine Welt. Den drei Musikern merkt man stets die Lust am Auftreten und die Freude über ihr geschaffenes Universum an. Seit 2008 haben sie fünf Alben herausgebracht und vier Abendprogramme realisiert, mit denen sie vor allem im frankophonen Raum erfolgreich touren. Auch ihr musikalisches Spektakel für ein junges Publikum «Chansons douces et autres vers d‘oreille» ist bei Klein und Gross beliebt.

«Die drei fröhlichen Musiker nehmen uns mit in ihre Welt aus Poesie, frechem Humor und unverschämter Frische. Die originellen Texte und Melodien lassen keine Zweifel an ihrem Talent aufkommen und als Nachfolger der Frères Jacques, der Charlots oder der Nonnes Troppo pflegen die Petits Chanteurs à la Gueule de Bois das populäre Musikgenre der Chanson à texte mit viel Humor und Stil. Vielen Dank an Lionel Aebischer, Frédéric Erard und Raphaël Pedroli, die uns mit viel Freude und mit schlauen Blicken auf unsere Welt beschenken.

Und wenn Sie schlecht gelaunt sind, empfehlen wir Ihnen eine Michelada: Der Cocktail aus Limette, Tabasco, Bier und Worcestersauce hilft garantiert gegen den Kater, die ‚Gueule de bois‘».

Thierry Luisier, Jurymitglied

www.pcgb.ch
zurück zur Übersicht