Swiss Theatre Awards

Überschrift

Swiss Grand Award for Theatre / Hans Reinhart Ring 2018

Theater Sgaramusch

Trusting a young audience

Since 1982, Theater Sgaramusch in Schaffhausen has been creating professional independent theatre for children that is equally appealing to their adult companions. More than 40 productions have been staged to date, proving so universal and accessible that Sgaramusch has already toured in 16 countries on four continents, though mainly appearing at numerous venues in German-speaking Switzerland. Sgaramusch was founded by theatre educator Urs Beeler and has been led since 1997 by Stefan Colombo and Nora Vonder Mühll. The duo, who mostly appear on stage themselves, work on every production with a rotating, often small team of actors and directors. Scripts and music are almost always composed collaboratively or improvised from scratch. The defining feature of this outstanding children’s theatre is intelligent productions that deploy a varying selection of theatrical resources such as figures and music but avoid lecturing their audience, relying instead on their open-mindedness and questions. This makes Sgaramusch a major force in theatre for young audiences – recently resurgent in Switzerland thanks to the new “jungspund” festival in St. Gallen.

Like most of the nine productions in its repertoire Sgaramusch’s latest, “Knapp e Familie” (2017), a co-production with the Schlachthaus Theater Bern and the Fabriktheater at the Rote Fabrik in Zurich, is aimed at children, here aged 7 and over. “Something’s missing.” – “What?” – “A child”: imagining themselves as parents, a woman and a man played by Stefan Colombo and Nora Vonder Mühll offer an insight into the secret life of adults. Performed using simple means, the works still manage to be distinctive; for all their frequent quirkiness and absurdity, they tackle serious topics. Sgaramusch opens up new perspectives on familiar works. Its retelling of Jeremias Gotthelf’s “The Black Spider”, a production from 2010 that is still in the repertoire, is what might be called a pocket-sized three-hander. The simplicity of Sgaramusch’s productions also gives them flexibility, allowing the theatre to perform in kindergartens and schools, in private spaces and even in a sandpit. Works are presented in Swiss German but also in standard German, English and French.

“Based in Schaffhausen, Theater Sgaramusch has been making theatre for the youngest generations for 36 years. But its shows are actually aimed at audiences of all ages. And while today the golden age of theatre for young audiences might seem to be over, through its ability to innovate Theater Sgaramusch continues to affirm the necessity of its work with undiminished freshness. Its performances deny the theatrical illusion; their very simplicity underlines the ludic nature of theatre, drawing on a wide array of expressive resources. Stefan Colombo and Nora Vonder Mühll don’t set out to teach. They are interested in good stories that ask questions of their viewers, leaving it to each to find the answer that suits them best. That’s the way Theater Sgaramusch has always operated: trusting unwaveringly in its young audience.”

Gianfranco Helbling, chair of the jury

www.sgaramusch.ch

Schweizer Theaterpreise

Überschrift

Schweizer Grand Prix Theater / Hans-Reinhart-Ring 2018

Theater Sgaramusch

Vertrauen in ein junges Publikum


Seit 1982 produziert das Theater Sgaramusch in Schaffhausen professionelles, freies Theater für Kinder, das auch den begleitenden Erwachsenen gefällt. Über 40 Produktionen sind seither entstanden, die so universell gültig und verständlich sind, dass Sgaramusch bereits in 16 Ländern auf vier Kontinenten tourte, hauptsächlich aber in vielen Orten der Deutschschweiz spielt. Gegründet vom Theaterpädagogen Urs Beeler, leiten seit 1997 Stefan Colombo und Nora Vonder Mühll das Theater. Die beiden, die meist selbst auf der Bühne stehen, arbeiten für jede Produktion mit wechselnder, oft nur kleiner Besetzung und Regie. Texte und Musik werden fast immer gemeinsam ausgestaltet oder von Grund auf aus der Improvisation erarbeitet. Kennzeichen dieses herausragenden Kindertheaters der Deutschschweiz sind intelligente Stücke, die mit wechselnden Theatermitteln wie Figuren oder Musik ohne didaktischen Zeigefinger auskommen und auf ein offenes Verständnis und Fragen der Zuschauenden setzen. Damit sind sie eine wichtige und feste Grösse im Theater für ein junges Publikum, das in der Schweiz zurzeit mit dem neuen Festival Jungspund in St. Gallen neuen Schwung erhält.

Das aktuelle Stück von Sgaramusch «Knapp e Familie» (2017), das in Koproduktion mit dem Schlachthaus Theater Bern und dem Fabriktheater Rote Fabrik Zürich entstand, richtet sich wie die meisten der neun Produktionen im Repertoire an Kinder (empfohlen ab 7 Jahren). «Irgendöppis fehlt.»  ̶  «Was?»  ̶  «Es Chind.» Eine Frau und ein Mann, gespielt von Stefan Colombo und Nora Vonder Mühll, stellen sich vor, sie wären Eltern und geben so Einblicke in das geheime Leben der Erwachsenen. Mit einfachen Mitteln gespielt, zeigen die Werke doch Ecken und Kanten. Die Stücke sind oft schräg und absurd, behandeln aber durchaus ernsthafte Themen. Sgaramusch wollen neue Sichtweisen auf Altbekanntes ermöglichen. So erzählen sie beispielsweise Jeremias Gotthelfs «Die schwarze Spinne», das aus dem Jahr 2010 noch im Repertoire ist, sozusagen im Taschenformat zu dritt. Mit ihren einfachen Produktionen sind sie flexibel und können in Kindergärten oder Schulen, in privaten Räumen oder auch mal in einem Sandkasten spielen. Ihre Stücke präsentieren sie in Schweizer Mundart, aber auch auf Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch.

«Das Theater Sgaramusch macht in Schaffhausen seit 36 Jahren Theater für die neuen Generationen. Aber nicht nur: Seine Stücke richten sich an ein Publikum jeden Alters. Und auch wenn heute das goldene Zeitalter des Jugendtheaters vorbei sein mag, bestätigt das Theater Sgaramusch dank seiner Innovationsfreude die Notwendigkeit seiner Arbeit stets aufs Neue. Seine Aufführungen lehnen die szenische Illusion ab und entlarven in ihrer Einfachheit und mit verschiedensten Ausdrucksmitteln das Spiel des Theaters. Stefan Colombo und Nora Vonder Mühll haben keine pädagogischen Absichten. Sie interessieren sich für gute Geschichten, die beim Publikum Fragen aufwerfen. Wir alle müssen für uns selbst die beste Antwort darauf finden. So war das Theater Sgaramusch mit seinem ungebrochenen Vertrauen in das junge Publikum schon immer.»

Gianfranco Helbling, Jurypräsident

www.sgaramusch.ch